About RC17

RC17 “Sociology of Organizations” of the ISA

The International Sociological Association (ISA) was founded in 1949 under the auspices of UNESCO. The goal of the ISA is to represent sociologists everywhere, regardless of their school of thought, scientific approaches or ideological opinion, and to advance sociological knowledge throughout the world.

The on-going scientific activities of the ISA are decentralized in Research Committees, Working Groups and Thematic Groups, each dealing with a well recognized specialty in sociology. These groups bring together scholars who wish to pursue comparative research on a transnational basis and they constitute basic networks of scientific research, intellectual debate and professional exchange. The Research Committee 17 was founded in 1971 and is concerned with “Sociology of Organizations”.


To establish contacts and to encourage collaboration among scholars working in the field of the sociology of organizations throughout the world; to enhance international cooperation and exchange in theoretical and empirical research in the sociology of organizations; to link theoretical and empirical research in the sociology of organizations with related specialist fields or disciplines such as economics, industrial relations, organizational behaviour, and management theory.

Board 2018-2022

President Robert van Krieken, University of Sydney, Australia, robert.van.krieken@sydney.edu.au
Vice President Kathia Serrano-Velarde, Heidelberg University, Germany, kathia.serrano-velarde@csi.uni-heidelberg.de
Treasurer Dean Pierides, University of Stirling, United Kingdom
Secretary Michael Grothe-Hammer, Helmut Schmidt University Hamburg, Germany, michael.grothe-hammer@hsu-hh.de
Board Members Inna Bell, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Héloïse Berkowitz, CNRS & Toulouse School of Management, France
Cristina Besio, Helmut Schmidt University Hamburg, Germany
Stewart Clegg, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Paul Du Gay, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Adam Hayes, University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA
Robert Jungmann, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
Daniel Muzio, University of York, United Kingdom
Leopold Ringel, Bielefeld University, Germany
Karem Sánchez de Roldán, Universidad del Valle in Cali, Colombia
Alan Scott, University of New England, Australia
Newsletter Editor Michael Grothe-Hammer, Helmut Schmidt University Hamburg, Germany, michael.grothe-hammer@hsu-hh.de

An overview of the past boards can be found here on the ISA website.